Fall 2015 Meeting of the Illinois Section of the AAPT

Physics and the Arts

October 16-17, 2015
 Department of Physics and Astronomy, Millikin University
Decatur, Illinois 62522


We are pleased to invite you to attend the Fall 2015 meeting of the ISAAPT.  Come to learn more about physics and astronomy, discover new tools and techniques for teaching physics, share your experiences via contributed presentations and Take Fives, and meet old and new friends.

We are now using Google forms with the results being posted immediately via the corresponding Google spreadsheets.  Note that each spreadsheet contains customized worksheets derived from the Data worksheet.

Parking is available on Friday and Saturday in the large parking lot across the street from the Leighty-Tabor Science Center, west of N. Fairview Ave.  The registration table is in the lobby of the Science Center.

Here are some photos taken at the meeting and posted on Flickr.


Invited Speakers
Friday, 4:30 pm
"Architectural Acoustics: Where Physics and the Arts Collide"

David Bradley, Vassar College
Friday evening banquet speaker, 7:15 pm
"Physics in Art Museums"

Sudha Swaminathan, Worcester State University
Saturday, 11:00 am
"Making Your Physics of Music Course Truly Cross-Disciplinary"

Heather Whitney, Wheaton College


W1 Friday
9:30 am - 12:30 pm
DC Circuits
Ann Brandon, Retired physics teacher, Joliet West High School
Deborah Lojkutz, Joliet West High School
W2 Saturday
1:00 - 3:00 pm
IOLab - a multi-sensor device
Eric Martell, Physics Department, Millikin University
Morten Lundsgaard, Physics Department, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Telescope Viewing.  If the sky is clear on Friday evening, the Requarth Observatory will be open to view the night sky with their 20-inch telescope.

Call for 15 minute Contributed Presentations - Deadlines: Title (Oct. 2), Description (Oct. 9)

Contributed presentations are scheduled on Friday afternoon and Saturday morning.  There are five categories of presentations: 1. Active Learning, 2. Teaching Methods, 3. Demonstrations, 4. Research, and 5. Other.  Please check the appropriate box when you fill out the Online form.

Take Fives.  Anyone who registers for the meeting may take 5 minutes or less to share a favorite item related to teaching physics - a demonstration, a new website or app, announcement of an upcoming event, ...  Please use the Registration form to tell us the title of your Take Five.  There may be time for a few unannounced Take Fives at the end of the last session of the day.

2014-2015 Outstanding High School Physics Teacher Award.  This will be presented during the banquet on Friday evening.  The recipient is Jack Marino, Maine South High School, Park Ridge, Illinois.
Council Meeting.  The Council will meet on Saturday at 7:30 am.
Annual Business Meeting.  This will be during lunch on Saturday and will include election of officers and new Council members.
The registration fee for both days is $40 for faculty.  It is free for students, guests, and invited teachers.
         After Oct. 9, the registration fee for faculty will be $45.
  •  Section dues:  $20 (faculty), $10 (K-12)
Workshop W1 on Friday, 9:30 am - 12:30 pm.  It is free.  $25 worth of equipment and materials is being
        provided by the ISAAPT.  Enrollment is limited to 10.
Workshop W2 on Saturday, 1:00 - 3:00 pm.  The workshop is free.  The IOLab multi-sensor device used in
        this workshop is valued at $100 but none will be given away as they were at the Spring meeting.
        Enrollment is limited to 15.
  •  Friday evening banquet buffet:  $20
        Starter:  Garden Salad with House Salad.  Entrees:  1. Carved London Broil with Caramelized Onion Au
        Jus, 2. Asiago Chicken, 3. Homemade Vegetable Lasagna.  Sides:  Herb-Roasted Red Potatoes, Green
        Beans Almondine, Broccoli Florets with Lemon Butter.  Dessert:  Flourless Chocolate Torte.
  •  Saturday box lunch:  $12
        Sandwich choices:  ham, turkey, roast beef or vegetarian
  •  The deadline for banquet and lunch reservations is Friday, Oct. 9.

Payment.  When you arrive at the meeting you may pay the total fees at the Registration table by using (1) cash, (2) a personal check, (3) a school or company check, (4) a credit card, or (5) PayPal.

If you have already registered and would like to pay beforehand by credit card or PayPal, check the Fees page for the amount, click on the Pay Now button below, and type in that amount. You will receive an email receipt and the treasurer of the Illinois Section (Ken Wester) will be informed of the transaction. Thank you.

 ● The chair of this meeting and local contact for checking on classroom and lab facilities is:
     Eric Martell, Dept. of Physics and Astronomy, Millikin University, 217-424-3582,  emartell@millikin.edu 
 ● If you have any problems with submitting information via the online forms or if there are corrections to be
     made, contact: 
David Renneke, 309-786-5247, davidrenneke@augustana.edu

Illinois Section of the AAPT
Last update:  November 2, 2015











custom counter