The 1905 Theories

Spring 2005 Meeting of the Illinois Section of the AAPT
"Einstein's Contributions to Optics and Photonics"

April 8-9, 2005
Department of Physics, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
Edwardsville, Illinois 62026

Centennial Celebration of Albert Einstein's Miraculous Year

Einstein Quotes

Program Details (pdf

Call for Papers

Campus Map  -  Use Parking Lot A.  Register in the
Lobby of the Science Lab Building - #7 on the map.

Invited speakers
  1.  Kathy A. Harper, Physics Education Research Group, The Ohio State University
       "Teaching the Current Generation of Students in the World Year of Physics".  Friday at 8:00 pm.
  2.  Abdullatif Hamad, Department of Physics, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
"Photonics at SIUE".  Friday at 3:00 pm
  3.  Eric Voss, Department of Chemistry, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
       "Exploring the Nanoworld".  Saturday at 10:15 am
     W1.  "Waves and Color - Mostly on the Cheap" by Ann Brandon and Debbie Lojkutz, Friday, 9:00-12:00
     W2.  "Photoelectric Effect" by Mark Schoeber, Friday, 8:00-12:00
     W3.  "Astronomy Inquiry Activities" by Rebecca Lindell and Tom Foster, Friday, 9:00-12:00

Call for Papers - Online - Mail or Fax
Contributed papers are scheduled on Friday afternoon and Saturday morning. Current list:  submitted abstracts | details

Registration form - Online - Mail or Fax
Registration info
  name tags | list | feestake-fives | workshops | judges
Edwardsville area - hotels | hotel map | campus | restaurants

A special reminder for students:  As in the past, this spring you have an opportunity to win an award for your contributed paper in the Student Research Symposium.  Remember, to be considered you must register for the meeting and submit an abstract ahead of time.  Please indicate in the comment box of the online form that you wish to be in the symposium.

Call for judges
:  We need instructors to serve as judges for this symposium.  Please indicate on your registration form if you are willing to serve.

The 2004-2005 Outstanding High School Physics Teacher Award will be awarded at the banquet on Friday evening.  Congratulations to this year's recipient - Michael Kennedy who teaches physics at Neuqua Valley High School in Naperville, Illinois.

There will be tours of the research labs at SIUE from 5:00 to 6:00 pm on Friday.

The Council has a regular meeting scheduled for Saturday morning at 7:00 am.

The program chair and local contact for sending forms by regular mail or Fax and for checking on classroom and lab facilities is:

Kimberly Shaw
Department of Physics
Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
Edwardsville, IL 62026
Phone: 618-650-2472
Fax: 618-650-3556

If you have any problems with submitting information via the online forms or if there are corrections to be made, contact the person who maintains these pages:

David R. Renneke

Department of Physics and Astronomy
Augustana College
Rock Island, IL 61201-2296
Phone: 309-794-3403
Fax:  309-794-7722

Illinois Section of the AAPT
Last update:  April 10, 2005