Spring 2015 Meeting of the Illinois Section of the AAPT


April 10-11, 2015
 Physics Department, Principia College
Elsah, Illinois 62028

Monday, Aug. 21, 2017

We are pleased to invite you to attend the Spring 2015 meeting of the ISAAPT.  Come to learn more about physics and astronomy, discover new tools and techniques for teaching physics, share your experiences via contributed presentations and Take Fives, and meet old and new friends.

Here are specific directions to the campus, either coming from the north or the south.  Check in at the gatehouse near the college entrance, park in the first parking lot on the right, and walk along the road to the Science Center.

The registration table will open at 12:30 pm on Friday with the welcome planned for 1:30 pm.  Friday lunch is on your own.  If you plan to travel via Amtrak, the Alton IL station (ALN) is best.  We can arrange transportation to and from Alton and Principia College.  Please contact Tom Foster ( in advance.

Here are some photos taken at the meeting and posted on Flickr.


Invited Speakers
Friday afternoon - 2:00 pm
"Inflation: Unresolved questions in the new paradigm of cosmology"
Grant Larsen, Physics Department, Principia College
Friday afternoon - 4:30 pm
"Teaching engineering physics with supplemental instruction - the SIUE experience"
Chris Gordon, Department of Construction, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
Friday evening banquet speaker - 7:15 pm
"Quantum Astronomy"
Laurance Doyle, Astrophysicst, SETI Institute
Saturday morning - 10:00 am
"Getting ready for 2017"

Carl Wenning, Physics Department, Illinois State University

Contributed Presentations and Take Fives



A1. Tom Foster
A2. Kenneth Stack
Pengqian Wang
Take Fives
  Carl Wenning
  Tom Foster (2)
B1. Zachary Hartwick
B2. Julie Grimmer
Shea Cheatham
Philip Chrostoski
Joseph Smith
C1. Brandi Havard and Kyle Robinson
C2. Jacob Plunkett
Shuto Osawa
C4. Shuto Osawa, Elle Shaw and Xiaotong Zheng

Rita Xi Lin
Rumeng Zhang
D1. Tom Moses
D2. Cherie Lehman
Take Fives
   Cherie Lehman
   Roger Reeves
   Morten Lundsgaard
   Frank Salter
E1. Miles Maggio
Jarrett Betke
Derek Jennings
Samantha Norris

Workshops - Note the time change for W2 and W3.

W1. Saturday
1:00-3:00 pm
IOLab - a multi-sensor device
Eric Martell, Physics Department, Millikin University
Morten Lundsgaard, Physics Department, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
W2. Saturday
8:30-10:00 am
GeoGebra for figures, interactive simulations and randomized problem-solving
Lenore Horner, Seven Hills School, Cincinnati, Ohio
W3. Saturday
8:30-10:00 am
Sharing the Night Sky with Your Students
Nicole Gugliucci, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville STEM Center

Telescope Viewing.  If the sky is clear on Friday evening, the Principia Astronomical Observatory will be open to view the night sky with the 16-inch Ritchey-Chretien telescope.

Call for 15 minute Contributed Presentations - Deadlines: Title (Mar. 27), Description (Apr. 3)

Contributed presentations are scheduled on Friday afternoon and Saturday morning.  There are six categories of presentations: (a) Active Learning, (b) Teaching Methods, (c) Demonstrations, (d) Research, (e) Student Research Symposium and (f) Other.  Please check the appropriate box when you fill out the Online form.

A special reminder for students:  As in the past, this spring you have an opportunity to win an award for your contributed presentation in the Student Research Symposium.


Call for judges:  We need instructors to serve as judges for this symposium.  Please indicate on your registration form if you are willing to serve.

Take Fives.  Anyone who registers for the meeting may take 5 minutes or less to share a favorite item related to teaching physics - a demonstration, a new website or app, announcement of an upcoming event, ...  Please use the Registration form to tell us the title of your Take Five.  There may be time for a few unannounced Take Fives at the end of the last session of the day.

2015 Distinguished Service Citation.  This will be given during the banquet on Friday evening.
Council Meeting.  The Council will meet at 7:00 am on Saturday morning.

The registration fee for both days is $30 for faculty.  It is free for students and guests.
         After April 3, the registration fee for faculty will be $35.
  •  Section dues:  $20 (faculty), $10 (K-12)
  •  Workshop W1 on Saturday - It is free and participants may take the $100 IOLab device home.  Support
        for this workshop is provided by the ISAAPT, UIUC and McMillan Publishers.  Enrollment is limited to 15.
  •  Friday evening banquet buffet:  $25
  •  Saturday lunch:  $9 with 3 choices - ham, beef or veggie

The deadline for banquet and lunch reservations is Friday, Apr. 3.

When you arrive at the meeting you may pay the total fees at the Registration table by using (1) cash, (2) a personal check, (3) a school or company check, (4) a credit card, or (5) PayPal.  Options 4 and 5 may be done when you register online, after the fees are calculated.

If you have already registered and would like to pay beforehand by credit card or PayPal, check the current fees page for the amount, click on the Pay Now button below, and type in that amount. You will receive an email receipt and the treasurer of the Illinois Section (Ken Wester) will be informed of the transaction. Thank you.

 ● The chair of this meeting and local contact for checking on classroom and lab facilities is:
     Jonathan Langton, Physics Department, Principia College, 618-374-5293,
 ● If you have any problems with submitting information via the online forms or if there are corrections to be
     made, contact: 
David Renneke, 309-786-5247,

Illinois Section of the AAPT
Last update:  April 28, 2015












custom counter