Lasers in Optical Microscopy

PH 360 - Optics Winter 2002-2003

Studies of physical optics and modern optical phenomena.  Topics include (a) brief history of optics, (b) wave motion (1D, 2D and 3D), (c) electromagnetic waves, energy and momentum, radiation, (d) propagation of light, reflection, refraction, internal reflection, Brewster's law, color addition and subtraction, (e) lenses, mirrors, prisms, fiberoptics, (f) thick lenses, aberrations, (g) superposition of waves, (h) polarization, (i) interference, (j) diffraction, (k) lasers, holography, non-linear optics.  Bottom of page.
 
 
Set Chapter Problems Due by 5:00 pm on
1 1 Handout - History of Optics Wed., Dec. 4
2 2 2, 16, 18, 23, 32, 35, 42, 43 Mon., Dec. 9
3 3 1, 15, 20, 23, 30, 38 Mon., Dec. 16
4 4 6, 8, 15, 22, 32, 42, 55 Fri., Dec. 20
5a 5 14, 20, 30 33 Mon., Jan. 13
5b 5 48, 49, 58, 72, 80, 87
Note:  In #49, change the word "herself" to "her face".
Fri., Jan. 17
6 6 2, 20, 23, C1, C2 (handout) Fri., Jan. 24
7 7 6, 33, 44    Note:  In #33, change Fig. 7.20 to Fig. 7.30. Wed., Jan. 29
8 8 4, 5, 18, 35, 43, 44, 53   Note:  In #4 and #5, draw the lightwave. Mon., Feb. 10
9 9 8, 19, 21, 32, 42 Mon., Feb. 17
10 10 9, 25, 28, 33, 50, 51 Fri., Feb. 21

Answers to selected problems.

Last update: February 25, 2003